2019 NEW RELEASES TO ANTICIPATE!

Happy New Year, everyone!

What books are you excited to read this year? Below are 80 new African, African-American and Caribbean books that look very promising. This is just a snippet of the books 2019 has to offer!

Please click on the images to read the blurbs and/or to purchase the books.

(this post contains Amazon affiliate links)

MORE books to look out for in 2019:

Image via Twitter

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Blurb

Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

To be published August 2019

 


Image via Ayana Mathis

A Violent Woman by Ayana Mathis

The Blurb

The story of an estranged mother and daughter separated by a thousand miles, the mother’s shadowy past as an itinerant blues singer, and her daughter’s mental illness and recruitment into a radical political group.

Check out my book review of Mathis’s debut novel – The Twelve Tribes of Hattie. I’m really looking forward to this new novel!!

To be published September 2019

 


Image via Elise Dillsworth Agency

Nudibranch by Irenosen Okojie 

The Blurb

Nudibranch is Irenosen Okojie’s second collection of short stories, a follow up to Speak Gigantular which was shortlisted for the 2016 Jhalak Prize and 2017 Edge Hill Short Story Prize.

The collection focuses on offbeat characters caught up in extraordinary situations – a mysterious woman of the sea in search of love arrives on an island inhabited by eunuchs; dimensional-hopping monks navigating a season of silence face a bloody reckoning in the ruins of an abbey; an aspiring journalist returning from a failed excursion in Sydney becomes what she eats and a darker, Orwellian future is imagined where oddly detached children arrive in cycles and prove to be dangerous in unfamiliar surroundings.

To be published October 2019

 


Image via The New York Review of Books

The Fraud by Zadie Smith

Synopsis

The Fraud is inspired by the real events on North West London (Smith’s childhood home that she has chronicled in most of her novels, most notably NW) from the 1830s to the 1870s.


Also look out for work from: Akwaeke Emezi, Petina Gappah, Talib Kweli, Maaza Mengiste, Rivers Solomon, Binyavanga Wainaina

 

What new releases are you excited about? Please do share!

11 thoughts on “2019 NEW RELEASES TO ANTICIPATE!

    1. Hey Evelyn :). Right – I look forward to Thick, Lot and the new ToMo as well. As well as Folarin’s debut, Obioma’s 2nd book and Bassey Ikpi’s collection etc. They all look so good. Peoples’ book-buying bans will definitely be broken this year haha

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Okay i Just discovered your blog and my money just grew wings….THIS IS AWESOME. i was planning on reading a small fraction of Nigerian books this year but this list , My God this list makes me want to buy everything..a couple of them are already on my TBR list tho..i’m adding more there goes my book buying ban.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great post. Thank you! I have been looking for a collection of African American writers who write more than Urban fiction. You hit the nail on the head with this one. I will most certainly be reading these and maybe conducting my own book reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HAPPY NEW YEAR, DARKOWAA❣️All I can is: “you are so wrong and yet, so right!” with this post. It’s a bit mouthwatering, and I’m still trying to address my backlist and re-reads! Some of the authors coming out with new books are authors I have read and admired, before (i.e. Ngũgĩ, Abouela, Makumbi, Whitehead, Dennis-Benn….) so it’s going to be rough. Also, I’ve owned a hardcover copy of Chigozie Obioma’s The Fishermen since it came out that I have yet to read. Same with Kalisha Buckhanon’s Solemn. I want to study the Reconstruction era this year so I may have to peek at Henry Louis Gates’s offering. I love Ayana Mathis’s essays, but I still have not read The Twelve Tribes of Hattie….oh lord….!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year, Leslie! Ohhh, please get to ‘The Fishermen’ soon – I absolutely loved it. It tore my heart to shreds. ‘Twelve Tribes of Hattie’ was very very enjoyable too. I’m yet to read Ayana Mathis’s essays online. Studying the Reconstruction era sounds cool. I could only do that in a classroom setting, as the readings tend to be a little dense (for me hahaa) :(. I hope you’re able to read and re-read and purchase the books your heart desires this year! Thanks for always stopping by ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.